top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Brine

Family Traditions

I love Thanksgiving. I love all holidays, but this one is especially near and dear to my heart. I grew up in a foodie family. Our family gatherings are always full of delicious food, everything home made, and truly delicious.


My family owns a food business so as awesome as the holiday season is it is also our busiest time, so it can be grueling and exhausting. We are die hard with our traditions and as Thanksgiving approaches I thought I'd share one of my favorites with you.


The stuffing party.

It is a time honored tradition that probably doesn't make sense to most, but it is serious indescribable.


Owning a business comes with some perks. My favorite day of the entire year is Thanksgiving morning. When we roll out of bed. Throw on our signature Thanksgiving shirts and we go to the closed grocery store, fire up the ovens, and eat a ridiculous breakfast of pastries, coffee, sausage links. We all get together to spend a few hours creating our secret family recipe of stuffing, and just all be together with no frills.


My family is gigantic. I have 24 cousins and being one of the youngest you add aunts, uncles, cousins, spouses, kids, friends, and extended family it becomes a big party anytime we are together.


My grandparents loved it when we were all together smiling, laughing, cooking, and reminiscing. It's moments like this now that they're both gone that you can feel their presence. You can feel their smiles radiating from the heavens. When we are all in our element. There are little kids running through the dimly lit aisles playing tag. The uncles cutting mushrooms and shredding turkey necks and gizzards, sauteing onions, and mixing enormous bowls of steaming stuffing. The aunts gossiping on the sidelines wrangling the kids, holding the babies, and catching up. We all just fit together. All of us live such different lives and yet every year we take the time to just simply be together. We take the time to continue this time honored tradition before all breaking off to celebrate with our smaller families and friends.


This is my family. Raw. Comfortable. Causal. Just us. Smiles, sweets, and togetherness.




Is it Thursday yet?


Catherine

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page