top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Brine

Vision

Having an idea of what you want and where you want to go in life is critical part of a hygge or mental health journey. Creating a simple vision board, something that is concrete to look at as a simple reminder of what you want to do and where exactly you want to be in life is critical for success.


So, what's the big secret to creating a vision board that works? It's simple: Your vision board should focus on how you want to feel, not just on things that you want. Don't get me wrong, it's great to include the material stuff, too. However, the more your board focuses on how you want to feel, the more it will come to life.


What do you need:

  • Any kind of board or paper, if you're new maybe start with a cork board or poster board from the dollar store.

  • Scissors, tape, pins, and/or a glue-stick to put your board together.

  • If you want, fun markers, stickers, or anything else you can think of to deck out your board.

  • Magazines that you can cut images and quotes from.

  • Most importantly, the stuff you want to look at every day. Photos, quotes, sayings, images of places you want to go, reminders of events, places, or people, postcards from friends and just about anything that will inspire you.

  • Time. Give yourself a stress-free hour or two to put your board together.

I prefer to do mine digitally now, it's easy to edit in google slides or powerpoint and print them to throw up at your desk, in your planner, etc. It is also easier to change out more frequently.

How to do it:

Set the mood.

Turn off the TV and turn on some relaxing music.

Light a candle and clear your space.

As for choosing what makes the final cut, lay everything out before you start gluing and pinning so you can get an idea of where you want everything.


What do you think? Will you create a vision board if you don't have one already? I hope the answer is yes.


I didn't realize how much I needed these last couple of days off and today when I went to do my self care challenge tasks I thought re-doing my vision board was a perfect activity. Here I sit in my office with Harry Potter playing in the background and my favorite coffee in hand. My head and heart are in such a different space now then they were when I did my previous board in January. There have been many fresh starts, chapters closed, and new journeys started.


Here's my new board:


My board contains all of the things that I love:

-coffee -MN -Plaid -Evenings on the porch -snuggles -bonfires -writing -candles -coffee -Stillwater -Live Music -Chris Stapleton -Brine's -Rippley river waves


I can't wait to see what's on your boards!


Here's my challenge accountability. How are you all doing?

Like I mentioned before I had no idea how bad I needed a few days off. I needed to nap, clean my house, spend much overdue time with my friends and boyfriend before he heads out on a work trip, and just spend some solid time at home by myself. My entire summer has been a whirlwind. My mom living with me limited the amount of time I spent at home and now sitting here taking some time to reflect and re-center has been so nice.




I hope you are enjoying the challenge. It's been great for me and I hope it's something we continue to do in the future :)


Catherine


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page